Homewood Historical Society Scholarships

In 2005, HHS awarded its first-ever scholarship to a Homewood-Flossmoor High School graduate planning to study history in college. That single award has since been increased to two $1,000 annual awards to high-performing students who have demonstrated an appreciation for academics and Homewood history. To date, HHS’s philanthropy has translated to $14,100 in scholarship monies to deserving high school seniors.

The 2020 HHS Scholarship winners are Yahni Brown, headed to Prairie State College for a two-year transferable degree to an electrical engineering school; and Eric Piros. headed to Boston University to study history and marine biology.

Yahni’s thank you reads as follows: “I am emailing you to tell you thank you for awarding me the Homewood Historical Society Scholarship. I’d never thought that I would receive such an amazing scholarship.”

Eric’s thank you note reads:  “Thank you so much for selecting me for the Homewood Historical Society Scholarship. The money will help me further pursue my interest in history.  Earlier today I finished signing up for classes for the Boston University fall semester.  My choices include two history classes:  one focusing on medieval Europe and one focusing on eastern Europe.  I am grateful to the excellent teachers and advisors I´ve come to know in the Homewood-Flossmoor community who sparked my interest in learning more about the events and people that shape our story.”

Past HHS Scholarship Winners

2005: Nadia Nammai, University of Illinois
2006: Eric Souza, Knox College
2007: Robert Lemon, Illinois State University
2008: Chidiebere Wachukwu, Prairie State College and Northern Michigan University
2009: Kayla Arbuthnot, Elmhurst College
2010: David Elfman, University of Illinois
2011: Sophie Schloen, University of Southern California
2012: Martin Johnson, Trinity Christian College
2013: Rose Richard, Beloit College
2014: Rachel Elfman, Denison University

2015: Michaela Davis, University of Michigan
2016: Thomas Planera, University of Chicago
2017: Lilian Hamer, Washington University
2017: Nickalas Palanca
2018: Amanda Fieramosca, St. Xavier University
2018: Chad Martin
2019: Kai Garris, DePaul University
2019: Morgan Jennings, Lewis University
2019: Myles Walker, University of Illinois
2020: Yahni Brown, Prairie State College
2020: Eric Piros, Boston University

%d bloggers like this: